How To: Fall Bridal Makeup

by conwaycourtney

 

bridal beauty

breakfast at vogue

Breakfast at Vogue

I usually wouldn’t think to do a bridal post, but I was contacted by a company called Lover.ly asking if I wanted to do a beauty post. I love doing beauty posts, so I thought, why not? I’m planning on not getting married for awhile, so this makeup look is a little more versatile. I wanted to do something simple and soft. I think bridal makeup looks best when it is simple and just accentuates your natural beauty.

If you haven’t checked out Lover.ly, it’s a pretty cool website. If you are getting married, this site will most definitely be helpful. They have tons of inspiration and helpful tips for planning, so you should definitely check it out if you haven’t already. I found some pretty amazing dresses on their site as well. My favorites are here, here and here! I  used them for inspiration for this makeup look. I loved how soft the fabrics were on all of the dresses. I like when wedding dresses aren’t really structured. I like when they are soft and have a more bohemian feel to them , which all of these dresses do. I decided to keep my makeup soft and natural as if I were going to be wearing one of the dresses. If you’d like to see more dresses on Lover.ly, you can check out their wedding dress page here!

 Here is my look, step by step!

how to: bridal beauty:

Before I even put foundation on, I made sure to exfoliate my face and moisturize. I also used the Clinque Pore Eraser Primer to make sure my makeup stayed in place and my pores wouldn’t be visible all day.

step 1: Apply your favorite foundation that has little to no SPF. I used Bobbi Brown Liquid foundation that has an SPF of 15. I tested it with my camera and there was no flashback. Testing your makeup with a flash is a good idea to do for any big event! This foundation is medium coverage, which is something I like since I have freckles. I think it looks more natural when my freckles are peeking through.

step 2: Next, I applied my Sonia Kashuk concealer in the areas that needed a bit more coverage. I then used my Real Techniques Blending Brush to blend it into my foundation. I made sure to hit the places that get the most red during the day for me, like my nose and chin. I wanted a little bit more coverage than usual for this look. I then powdered my face with a matte powder. I used Rimmel’s Stay Matte Powder. I’ve found that it works really well for my oily skin

step 3-5: Contour! I used the same steps from my previous How To: Contour post. Here is the link to refer back to. I also used the same products!

(Between these two steps I filled in my brows. My tutorial for that here!)

step 6: I used the Maybelline Color Tattoo in the champagne color all over my lid. This stuff is really great to use as a base because it is a two for one, which I love. It acts as a primer and shadow all at the same time! I then used MAC’s All That Glitters on top to set the color tattoo.

step 7: Next, I used a Tarte shadow in my crease that is a rose/taupe color. I think it goes really well with green eyes and looks really natural as a crease color.

(Between these steps I put on liquid liner. You can find my step by step tutorial for that here!)

step 8: I concealed under my eyes last because it really makes the makeup look very crisp, especially the eye liner. I used Clinique’s Under Eye Concealer. I love this stuff because it barely creases. I have yet to find an under eye concealer that doesn’t crease at all. If you know of any, let me know in the comments below!

step 9: Last is lips! I used a MAC shade (the name rubbed off 😦 so sadly I don’t know what color it is) and a NYX lip pencil in the shade Natural.

I also applied false lashes, but you can always just use mascara!

I hope you guys enjoyed this even though it was a little different. Let me know what you think of the look in the comments below!

xx

Courtney

