Why We Need to Stop Skinny Shaming

by conwaycourtney

This post has been sitting in my draft file for about a month now (maybe even longer) and I have been really debating on if I should post it or not. Then, the other day I was at my work and a older man commented on how skinny I was and trying to be humorous at the same time and it totally failed and made it sound like being skinny was such an awful thing. So thats when I decided that I should definitely post this. So thanks old man for making the decision for me. 

I’ve wanted to do a more serious post like this for kind of awhile, but I never really knew how to start it until I was reading an article on Refinery29 the other day (Actually, now about over a month ago). The article was about stylish people who rocked their outfits at Coachella. After I went through all the slides and was feeling especially inspired, I scrolled down to read the comments only to find that majority of the people were skinny shaming and class shaming all of these people. They all claimed that it was wrong of Refinery29 not to include any curvy people (which yes they could have been a bit more diverse when it came it size) and that all of these people must be models to be this thin. Many people also stated that tickets for Coachella are thousands of dollars (not true) and only rich people can afford them which was why there were no curvy people there because only wealthy people can afford to eat healthy, apparently. Like I’m sorry, but what the fuck (yes, that was necessary). Being someone that is naturally skinny, and has been my whole life, I can say that when someone makes you feel bad for being skinny (or any size really) and smaller than them, it doesn’t make you feel good. Yeah, I know sounds weird but it’s true. For some reason, people think its okay to call girls anorexic and tell them to go eat a burger, when in reality it’s totally not cool. I don’t want to drag this on, I just wanted to get it out in the open, so I’m going to stop here.

What do you guys think? Does society and the internet need to stop acting like being skinny in a bad thing?

Sound off in the comments below!

xx
Courtney

