How to: Winged Eyeliner

by conwaycourtney

My go to eye makeup is simply some winged eye-liner and some mascara. I’ve been doing it ever since high school and I just think it suits me the best. Whenever someone asks me how I do it, I tell them that it takes a lot of practice, which it does! If you really want to learn how to do winged eyeliner you have to practice. So that means sit in front of the mirror for an hour, pull out the makeup remover, and do it over and over again until you get the right technique for you eye shape down. Some people like to do it with their eyes closed, others do it with theirs open. Try both and see what you like. Some people start with mascara then do their eyeliner, others do it the other way around.

Heres how I do it.

I do small strokes across me eye creating a line all the way across my eyelid. I do it using small strokes just because its easier to control the line that way. Also, I tilt my brush so its parallel to my lash line. I feel like I have more control that way.
Tip: Hold the brush like you hold your pencil, that way your hand is more comfortable and it feels more natural. 

Next I create a line going towards the end of my brow, again I use small strokes to do this. I always do this with my eyes open. This way you will see exactly where the line is going and there will be no surprises.
Tip: You want to elongate your eyes so try your best to make the line go towards the end of your brow 

Next, I connect the two lines using small strokes. This is when I will close my eye and perfect the line, making sure there are no bumps along the way. When I close my eye though, I try not to alter the line I just made too much.

Lastly, I will use a small concealer brush with some makeup remover or even just water to fix any mistakes and sharpen the line.

Finish the look with some nude concealer on the water line to open up your eyes and put on your favorite mascara. I also like to use a little bit of highlighter in the inner corners of my eyes to make them brighter.

Ta-da! Winged liner complete.

The tools:

If you liked this look, let me know in the comments below! Also, if you were brave enough to try it tweet me at @BreakfastVogue and I’d love to see your look!
Hope you all enjoyed!
xx
Courtney

