Mascarpone, Ricotta and Chocolate Tart

by conwaycourtney

Hello! So I have kind of decided that I want to do at least a weekly post on baking/cooking since I usually end up baking something at least every Thursday. So this Thursday I found this pie on Pinterest (duh) and decided to go for it since I haven’t made a pie in awhile. Before I start, I do have to warn you to maybe split the recipe in half because I made about one and a half pie’s and I still had left over filling. ALSO only fill up your pie tin about half way with filling or else your pie will fail, which I learned the hard way.

I got the recipe from Red Star to Lone Star blog 

For the pie crust, I used the one that she had used as well, but any pie crust recipe will do. However, I do recommend this one because it is a sweeter pie crust which goes really well with the filling. I also do recommend letting the pie crust sit in the fridge for about 20-30 minutes while making the filling.

For filling:

6 oz ricotta cheese
6 oz mascarpone cheese
1 cup powdered sugar
2 eggs, separated (reserve a little bit of the whites and a little bit of the yolks for the wash)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 oz good quality dark chocolate, chopped

First, I separated the eggs and whipped the egg whites until they had stiff peaks. Next, in a separate bowl I mixed the ricotta, mascarpone, sugar and the egg yolks together using a hand blender and once they were fully mixed, I added in the extracts and salt. After everything is fully mixed and smooth, carefully fold in the egg white to create a light mixture.

Preheat oven to 350

Next, take your chilled dough and cut in half (put the other half back in the fridge). Roll out the dough so it is bigger than the 9 inch pie pan (you may use bigger because the recipe makes a good amount of dough) Put the dough in the pan and use baking beads and bake for about 10-15 minutes.

Lower oven to 325

Once the dough is slightly cooked, let it cool for about 10 minutes before putting the filling in. While its cooling, chop up your chocolate. Also, take the remainder of the dough and roll out and cut into strips to lace over the top.

Once your crust is cooled, put about half of the filling into the crust and put the chocolate on top. Next, take the strips of dough and lace them over the top. You can use left over egg yolks, if you saved any, to create an egg wash to go over the crust to make it golden brown.

Once your done, bake your pie for about 40-45 minutes. When finished and cooled, sprinkle some powdered sugar on top and enjoy!

Hope everyone enjoyed this and let me know what you think in the comments 🙂
xx
Courtney

